Perennials

Hosta Love

One of my paintings of a hosta leaf.

One of my paintings of a hosta leaf.

I love hosta. I heart hosta. I experience hosta love. Anyway you say it, I know I am not alone.

Even the dentist office hostas make me happy. You know the variety of which I speak. The nothing too flashy, oh well, these will work here hosta. And they do work. They are the little workhorses of the shade and partial shade garden.

The best advice I ever received about creating a hosta bed, glade or grotto, is to mix your greens, blues, and golds. It creates a hosta quilt and a textural feast.

Hosta bed in the front yard

Hosta bed in the front yard

My only regret with my hosta bed is that I have not labeled my collection. I have over 50 varieties, I believe, but no idea what is what.

The hosta leaf is what I truly love. They have always struck me as looking a lot like little hearts. So I got the paints out last weekend and captured this on canvas. It’s true hosta love.

The art of the hosta leaf

The art of the hosta leaf

One thought on “Hosta Love

Leave a Reply

