General Garden Musings

Meryl Streep’s character in “It’s Complicated” is one hell of a gardener

Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin in It's Complicated

Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin in It's Complicated

In the newly released holiday film “It’s Complicated,” Meryl Streep plays a professional chef/bakeress with a kitchen to die for and a garden of all our dreams. I am all for a good fantasy flick where dream jobs abound for all and everyone lives in homes that they probably couldn’t really afford, but even I sat agape in the scene where Meryl picked fresh vegetables and flowers in a perfect potager.

This was a garden that would requite a staff of several. Think the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum Home Demo Garden. In all fairness, we were never told that Meryl did it all herself. She was a gourmet in the kitchen and a lovely whore in the bedroom. Why not assume that she was also a Gertrude Jekyl in the garden?

On a sidenote, the film is charming and I would say, worth a few good chuckles and smiles. Meryl is ageless, Alec Baldwin is wonderfully beefy and boy-ish and Steve Martin was such a breath of fresh air. It was so good to see him in a film where he didn’t need to be the Pink Panther or The Jerk.

Much like Julie & Julia got me thinking of all my favorite recipes, It’s Complicated got me thinking about all the great gardens I’ve see in films and TV, as well as gardening movies. A few came to mind:

Greenfingers. A really inspiring film about the power of digging in the dirt. The gardens they create are fun and beautiful and the overall spirit is winning.

Terms of Endearment. A classic backyard strolling garden with roses and a gazebo. Pure confection.

Enchanted April. I have forgotten where they are, but it is a vacation to just watch the film.

Pollock. The joy and hope in the main characters eyes when they are breaking ground for their first vegetable garden is contagious.

I’ll add to the list as I think of more. Any come to your mind?

One thought on “Meryl Streep’s character in “It’s Complicated” is one hell of a gardener

  1. Eric — I’m seeing this movie on Friday — mostly because I’ve heard so much about the garden. Of the other movies you suggest, the only one I’ve seen is Terms of Endearment, and that was before I gardened seriously. Thanks for tips.

Leave a Reply

