General Garden Musings / Winter Gardening

The Gardening Turning Point

Garden Drama small backyard pond

A small backyard pond is a very do-able project. Digging the hole is hardest part; tag team with a gardening buddy.

One of the greatest things about gardening in Zone 4, is that you get a pretty big break from it. Absense makes the heart grow fonder, and I guess I can only speak for myself, but by frost, I am ready to hang up the hoe for a while.

Then comes the winter winds and I wait for what I call the gardening turning point: that moment when my mind turns toward the yard, once again. It is a time when the digging adrenaline starts to rumble in my belly and I begin to look forward to the gardening season. I’ll sum it up: I can’t wait to get back out there. I’ve had a couple of experiences this past week that his ignited the flame, I believe.

Last night I spoke to a great gardening group, the Mendota Heights Garden Club. The topic was backyard water gardening, or as I call it: H2Oh in the Garden. I got into water gardening a couple of years ago when I did an article on it for Northern Gardener magazine. I call water gardening such a fair friend, because anybody really can do it, and it has enormous impact in your garden.

Great gardening books abound on water gardening, but about all you need is a water-tight container and some plants. You can start very small; a half-whiskey barrel is a great place to begin. Add some water, a few floating plants from your garden center, and some mosquito dunks (available at your garden center) and you have an instant little paradise.

Now is the time to start thinking about your summer water garden.

Leave a Reply

