General Garden Musings / Vegetable gardening

Compost tea: WARNING. Only truly hardy gardening souls will appreciate this post

Tomato plant gets the compost tea.

Watering the beefsteak tomato with the compost tea.

Every spring as I do my garden clean-up in the Garden Drama test garden, I deposit woody plant materials into a large tub and soak them, to break them down a bit before adding them to the compost pile.

Well, as it sometimes goes, the tub soaked quite a while this year (a path and patio project stole my attention), but lucky for me, a rich compost tea was brewed. As I poured it out of the tub and onto the neighboring tomato plants, I could almost hear them slurp it up and thank me for the drink.

The compost tea had a deep, amber hue and a delicious odor that warms my heart and takes me back to the cow barns of my youth in Arlington. Not stinky, but richly odiferous. A homespun perfume. I am now adding the broken down matter to the tomato plant bases and looking forward to the magic it will brew.

soak your woody plant materials before adding them to the compost bin

Soak your woody plant materials before adding them to the compost bin.

The cycle of nature at work in the garden. You can make your own compost tea, on a smaller scale, by soaking your compost fodder in a small pot. Even try soaking  it in a spare watering can.

One thought on “Compost tea: WARNING. Only truly hardy gardening souls will appreciate this post

Leave a Reply

