A note to Lindsay Lohan, Britney Spears and Paris Hilton: Girls, why not make gardening a new year’s resolution

Music hath charms to soothe a savage breast. So to speak. So does gardening I would say.

I am a lot more balanced in the spring and summer than I am this time of year. I don’t think it is just because of too many Christmas cookies as of late.

Gardening grounds a person. It is calming, centering, inspiring and fun. It is also a perfect way to control weight (I am also thinner in the summer) and it somehow gives you a reason for being on the earth. Don’t get me wrong; it is not my sole reason for existing, but when you are tending a garden, your plants need you. You would be missed if you suddenly disappeared.

I am already a gardener, so to make gardening my new year’s resolution would be redundant. But I am resolving to stop and see how much of an impact it has on my inner life. And to look to it to answer questions I have in my life (to everything there is a season, you reap what you sow, apples to oranges, and the list goes on.)

Leave a Reply

